Website from page
Introduction
About us
Cat psychology
Services instructions
Your opinion
Prices description
Reservation
Cat I.D
Cat's owner
Recruitment information
 
 
  Cat psychology:  
 
Cats’ Psychological Health (6)

How to Introduce a New Cat

Before taking a new cat home, you should take it to receive physical examination for leukemia (a deadly latent virus). If the newcomer reaches six months old, it should also be examined for AIDS. If this cat is from cattery or animal shelter, then it should be quarantined for a week.

Another problem caused by a new cat is jealousy. Dogs and cats are reluctant to share your love with other pets. So you should show more care and love to the former cat during the transitional period.

Proper introduction to the new cat will reduce conflict and tension. When you first take the new cat home, you should isolate the new cat in another room, and provide her with private food bin, water basin, and litter tray. The old cat will try to know the new partner by sniffing the crack between the door and the frame. If she gets angry after smelling the new cat, the owners should talk with them gently to calm them down. Ideal quarantine time should last for a week. The next step is to put the newcomer in cage, and put the cage in the middle of the room, so the old cats can look at and smell the new friend. If both sides are calm, they you can get the new cat out of cage. Keep your eyes open and see if there is something wrong. If both sides are tranquil, then the introduction is a success.

If you introduce the new cat to dogs, you should keep the dogs chained up beforehand. Maybe the new cat has never seen dogs before and nor have your dogs seen any cats, so it is hard to say what will happen during their first meeting. Most dogs will approach cats out of curiosity, and this will freak the cats out. Do not let dogs and cats meet alone until you are sure that they are used to the existence of each other.

Dogs like to taste cat food and vice verse. They want to know what each other eat. It is not dangerous, but dogs and cats have different nutritional requirements. In particular, cats need more protein than dogs, so cats cannot mainly feed on dog food.

Another point to bear in mind: dogs like to eat shit from cats’ litter tray, so it is good to cover the litter tray or put it out of dogs’ reach. How can gods develop such a habit? Possibly that is because plenty fat and protein in cat food make cats’ shit very attractive in dogs’ eyes.

There is no consensus about the adjustment period. You should keep an eye on the new cat until all the pets feel at ease. Old cats should not be forced to share their water, food or litter tray with the new one, and that is also why the new cat should be quarantined first. In a home with multiple cats, competition for food may lead to excessive obesity and bellicosity. So while the new cat is out of quarantine, each cat should have their private food bin. It is against cats’ nature and will easily lead to fight for cats to eat from the same food bin or in a row of food bins close to each other. 

It is important to keep the litter trays clean. In order to prevent cats from excreting everywhere, you should provide a private litter tray for each cat. Though two cats will take two litter trays, the two litter trays get dirty less easily than a litter tray shared by two cats. Clean litter trays at least once a day.

【 Back 】
 
 
Previous Article::Cats’ Psychological Health (5)
Next Article:Cats’ Psychological Health (7)
 
   
 
Links |  Contact us |  Favorite First society for the care and assistance of house cats in China

网站首页
妈咪寄语
关于我们
猫咪心理
服务介绍
信誉评价
价格说明
预约我们
猫咪印象
客户留影
招聘信息
 
 
  猫咪心理:  
 
关注猫咪心理健康(六)

如何介绍新猫咪

  新来的猫咪需要在进家门前进行体检。需要检查白血病(一种致命的潜在病毒)。如果猫咪已经有六个月大,需要同时检查艾滋病。如果猫咪来自猫舍或者小动物收容所,那么隔离新来的猫咪一个星期观察是很明智的选择。
  新猫进家的另一个问题是嫉妒。狗和猫们不愿意和别的宠物分享你的感情。所以在过渡期,你要给原住猫咪更多更多的爱。
  正确的介绍新猫咪进家门会减少纷争和紧张。当你第一次带新猫回来时,你应该把新来的猫咪隔离在另一个房间里,用她自己专用的食盆水盆和沙盆。原住猫咪会通过嗅门缝来首次认识新来的伙伴。如果她们闻到气味后生起气来,主人应该温和的和她们双方说话来使双方平静下来。较理想的隔离时间为一周。下一步是将新来的猫咪放在笼子里,将笼子放在屋子中间,让原住的猫咪们看看和闻闻这个新伙伴。如果双方都很平静,那就在你的监督下,从笼子里放出新来的猫咪。一定要观察气氛是否有什么不对,如果大家都很平静,那么介绍成功了。
  如果你把新来的猫咪介绍给狗的话,应该事先将狗拴住。也许新猫咪以前从未见过狗,你的狗也从未见过猫咪,所以首次见面,不好说会发生什么事情。大多数的狗会非常好奇的迅速接近猫咪,这种行为会吓着猫咪的。不要让狗和猫咪单独会面,直到你确信她们已经习惯对方了。
  狗喜欢品尝猫粮,猫也喜欢尝试一下狗粮。她们都想知道对方吃的是什么东西。这倒不是什么危险的事情,但是不论猫狗,她们都有自己的营养需求。特别是猫咪需要比狗更多的蛋白质,所以猫以狗粮为主食是不可行的。
  另外一点,狗喜欢到猫咪的沙盆里去吃便便,所以盖住猫沙盆或者把猫沙盆放置在狗够不到的位置比较好。狗怎么会有这样的习惯?可能是因为猫粮中较多的脂肪和蛋白质,而使得她们的便便在狗眼里很具吸引力。
  关于适应期,没有什么标准的定论。你应该一直监督关照新来的猫咪,直到你发现家里的宠物们都很自在了。不应该强迫原住猫咪分享她们的水,食物和沙盆给新来的猫咪,这也是先隔离新来猫咪的原因。在多猫家庭,会因为食物的竞争出现过度肥胖和好战的问题。当新来的猫咪被解除隔离时,每个猫咪都应该有她们各自的食盆。要求猫咪在同样的食盆里进食,或非常接近的在一排食盆边进食,都是违反她们本性的,而且容易引起纷争。
  猫沙盆的卫生也很重要,为防止猫咪的随处排泄行为,正确地猫沙盆的数量应该是每个猫都有自己的猫沙盆。虽然两个猫咪用两个猫沙盆,但两个猫沙盆比只用一个猫沙盆脏得慢得多。保持每天至少清理一次猫沙盆。 
【 返回上一页 】
 
 
上一篇文章:关注猫咪心理健康(五)
下一篇文章:关注猫咪心理健康(七)
 
   
 
友情链接 |  联系我们 |  收藏本站 版权所有© 猫妈咪·家访服务网 .All Right revesved  沪ICP备09013316号
版权声明:本网站公共显示的所有内容,包括文字和图片信息,均属猫妈咪网站许可人所有,网站内所有组成要素及相关知识产权均受法律保护,未经许可人书面同意,严禁任何形式的复制、修改和转载,违者将追究其法律责任,特此声明。