Website from page
Introduction
About us
Cat psychology
Services instructions
Your opinion
Prices description
Reservation
Cat I.D
Cat's owner
Recruitment information
 
 
  Cat psychology:  
 
Cats’ Psychological Health (3)

Right Ways to Hold Cats

Correct ways to keep and care for cats are very important. Of course, owners do not want to hurt their own cats. But once cats feel unsafe, they will try to run away, and this act will hurt their owners’ feelings. A Few tips are given as follows, and owners can master these skills and put them into practice frequently. If you have kids, you must teach them how to get along with cats peacefully (It seems that usually cats are more tolerant to kids than to adults.)

Cats’ whiskers and tails are sensitive to touch. Do not grasp or pull cats’ whiskers and tails. Cats’ tails are extension of chine, and overdue pulling will damage the nerves at the end of chine, which are important nerves that control urination and defecation. 

You must hold cats gently and firmly! Cats are good at reading their owners’ body language. If owners are not confident about doing something (such as feeding medicine to them) while holding cats, cats will sense it and will take advantage of this to make trouble.

The best way to hold cats is to reach out your hand first and let the cat smell it, which will let the cat know who you are. Then scratch between its chin and ears, which will make the cat feel less threatened. Place one hand under the cat’s two forelegs firmly, and lift its hind legs with the other hand. Hold the cat gently against your body. A cat with a sense of security will not struggle any more.

It is also feasible to scratch the skin behind cats’ neck. But note that do not try to lift the cat up in this way. Mother cats usually use this method to catch their own babies. Most cats will feel relaxed with this. But big cats cannot be controlled effectively with this method, and you have to hold their hind legs as well.

Some cats can stand being held by their owners like a baby. But few can accept such passive posture as lying on the back with four legs pointing up.

If your cat gets under the furniture and you fail to induce her out with food and toys, the best way to pull her out is to grab her nape instead of pulling her legs since it may result in dislocation.

Each cat’s tolerance of holding varies. You can hold some cats and walk around but some will flee as soon as they see you approaching. Some can accept being held for a while before they find a change to run away. It is crucial for owners to understand and accept their cats’ character. When cats stand or sit on fixtures (on the floor or furniture), they like to be held by their owners.

If your cat is scared or hurt, it cannot be held in traditional ways. You can first cover her head with a blanket or towel before holding her up. She will feel calmer if she does not see you. For the sake of safety, it is better to transfer the cat into a box.

【 Back 】
 
 
Previous Article::Cats’ Psychological Health (2)
Next Article:Cats’ Psychological Health (4)
 
   
 
Links |  Contact us |  Favorite First society for the care and assistance of house cats in China

网站首页
妈咪寄语
关于我们
猫咪心理
服务介绍
信誉评价
价格说明
预约我们
猫咪印象
客户留影
招聘信息
 
 
  猫咪心理:  
 
关注猫咪心理健康(三)
如何愉快地抱住猫咪
  对猫咪的正确养护是非常重要的。当然,主人是不想去伤害自己的猫咪的。但猫咪一旦觉得不安全,就会试图逃离,这一行为会伤害到主人对她的感情。下面提出几点行之有效的技巧,主人可以掌握这些技巧,并且不断实践。如果你有 孩子,那么一定要教会孩子如何温和安全地和猫咪相处(猫咪一般看起来对孩子都比对大人更能容忍些)
  猫咪的胡子和尾巴都是对碰触非常敏感的部位。不要抓或者拉猫咪的胡子和尾巴。猫咪的尾巴是猫咪脊骨的延伸,过于用力的拉扯将对位于脊柱末端的神经造成损坏,这些神经都是控制撒尿和大便的重要神经。
  抱猫咪时,一定要温和又坚定!猫咪很善于读出主人的身体语言。如果主人对抱猫进行一些操作(比如喂药等)的自我能力不自信,猫咪就会知道这点。并且她们还会马上利用这点跟你捣乱。
  最好的抱起猫的方法是先伸出手去给猫咪闻一下,这可以给猫咪一个机会确定你是谁。然后,轻轻抓挠一下猫咪的下巴和耳朵之间,令猫咪进一步减小威胁感。坚定地把一只手放到猫咪的前腿的两腋下,另一只手托起猫咪的后腿。温和的抱住猫咪贴住你的身体。一个有安全感的猫咪不可能再会挣扎。
  抓猫咪的脖子后面的皮肤也是可行的,不过注意,不要试图用这样的方式把猫咪从地面上提起来。猫妈妈都是使用这种方法来抓自己的孩子的。大多数猫咪都会在这种抓法下自然放松下来。但对大猫来说,这种抓法不能很好的控制猫咪,你还需要托一下她的后腿。
  一些猫咪能够忍受像婴儿一样被主人抱在怀里,但对于四脚朝天这一非常被动的姿势来说,猫咪很少能接受。
  如果猫咪钻到了家具下面,如果你不能用食物和玩具引诱猫咪出来的话,拉她出来的最安全的方式是,抓住猫咪的后颈,再拉她出来。千万不要去拉猫咪的腿,因为那样有造成脱臼的危险。
  每个猫咪对抱的忍耐度不同,有的猫咪,你可以抱着她走来走去,有的猫咪看到你向她走过来就逃。有的可以接受短时间的抱抱,然后找个机会就赶紧溜掉。对主人来说,尊敬并且理解猫咪的这一性格很重要。当猫咪站或者坐在固定物(地上或者家具上)上时,她们很喜欢主人的拥抱。
  如果你的猫咪受到了惊吓或者受伤了,这样就不能够用传统的方式来抱她,可以先用一个毯子或者毛巾将猫咪的头盖住,然后在再把猫咪抱起来。当猫咪看不到你,她会镇静一些。为安全起见,还是将猫咪转移到箱子里去比较好。
【 返回上一页 】
 
 
上一篇文章:关注猫咪心理健康(二)
下一篇文章:关注猫咪心理健康(四)
 
   
 
友情链接 |  联系我们 |  收藏本站 版权所有© 猫妈咪·家访服务网 .All Right revesved  沪ICP备09013316号
版权声明:本网站公共显示的所有内容,包括文字和图片信息,均属猫妈咪网站许可人所有,网站内所有组成要素及相关知识产权均受法律保护,未经许可人书面同意,严禁任何形式的复制、修改和转载,违者将追究其法律责任,特此声明。